Many people think that the most important things in life are free-they cannot be bought. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is a common believe that crucial things in life are not to be paid for. This has given rise to the fervid question 'who pays for them'?. Certain individuals opine that weighty things in life should be unfettered which should not be paid for. I cannot give credence to the proponents of that school of thought because free things are usually mismanaged and requires maintenance and running costs.

To begin with, most unpaid things in life are usually malhandled as a result it does not last. For instance a community pipe borne water installed last year in Gboko local government sploit within 6 months of commisioning the project due to poor management. If the indigenes of the community are asked to pay a for such services, they will understand the importance and probably know how best to handle such amenity.

Furthermore, crucial needs in human life such as hospitals , roads and schools requires running and maintenance cost. While these are important, the government alone cannot handle the expenses incurred. Therefore, individuals should contribute so that they will be enough fund maintain and run the projects. For example, a recent research by the WHO has shown that the government spends millions of dollars yearly in maintaining and running general hospitals. Unless people are asked to pay for certain services, everything might crumble. By and large, it is necessary that individual contributes by paying for certain services so that maintenance and running cost burden on the government can reduce.

To sumup, while quite a number of individuals believe that basic things in life should be free and should not be bought. However, i cannot agree to that school of thought because it can easily be mismanaged and they require maintenance and running costs.