Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Due to globalization, large supermarkets has increased in recent years and this is causing a problem for local businesses. I think there are a number of ways that local governments can aim to deal with this problem.

One of the side effects of globalization is its impact on local communities. For example, large supermarkets have sprung throughout cities. It has everything to offer including, a variety of items, comfort and competitive pricing and this has influenced people to avoid local shops. The items are imported from different countries in huge quantities and thus the pricing is very low when compared to local shops. They also offer air-conditioning, seating areas for the comfort of shoppers which cannot be found in local shops. As a result, local businesses are not able to compete and sustain themselves and are forced to close their business and people are facing tough times.

One of the best approaches governments can take is to limit the licensing of large supermarkets in residential areas. This means that a detailed study should be done before granting licenses. Local shops usually thrive in residential areas. New licenses to open supermarkets should be given only for commercial areas. Another approach is to tax large supermarkets and subsidize tax for local businesses. Local shops usually are run by local people and they do thus to sustain their families. The main aim of large corporations is to generate profit.

Another out-of-box approach is to put a condition on supermarkets to purchase at least 40% of their fresh food merchandise from local businesses. This policy will help local shops to flourish. If consumers still prefer large supermarkets, local shops would be doing good business as suppliers.

Clearly, local shops cannot compete with large supermarkets. This will lead to unemployment and anger among local communities. Governments can do a lot to support small, local shops by taking measures like limiting the licensing of large supermarkets, taxation and forcing them to buy merchandise from local shops.