Many small-town center shops are running out of business because rural residents tend to go shopping in big cities store. To what extent do the disadvantages of this development outweigh the advantages?

It is being observed that inhabitants of villages, nowadays prefer to shop in the metros supermarkets. Therefore, a decline in local shops selling and further adverse effects are roaring high recently. In this essay, the fundamental advantages or disadvantages will be discussed.

To embark with, firstly, supermarkets attract their customers with a vivid range of similar items like food, clothing, latest brands, and many more under one roof, people from rural parts of country initially finds it quite fascinating and now got habitual. Moreover, secondly, shopping centers in cities provide several offers and discount schemes, which is the best way to increase buyers. In a recent piece of article from "The Times", around fifty-two percent of the rural population admirers the good services provided by supermarkets. Certainly, lastly, this attitude of devotion towards users, make them feel good and gain their trust also.

On the other hand, mostly shop business in villages is run by locals or farmers during offseasons, to earn for livelihood. Hence, they have limited household items without international brands, in addition, supply in local areas is difficult and expensive. Furthermore, a certain set of people in rural areas create hand-crafts to sell but due to lack of publicity, they seem lucid under the shining glamour of fancy metro markets and eventually get closed. Situations like this create a circumstance of unemployment is villages. In an empirical survey conducted by London's "Oxford University", which ascertained that around sixty percent of villagers buy expensive products from city shopping centers just to mimic like urban residents. Consequently, this practice effects the economic balance in suburban areas, ultimately the local development also ceases.

To conclude, although, local businesses have caliber and quality, yet, the variety of products under single roof and services attract the rural residents. Resulting though, the advancement of metro shopping centers making a local shop to run out of business. This is a divastating situation for rural development and it overwigh disadvantages then advantages of it.