The mass media, including TV, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people’s ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

Mass media has been impacting society and individuals for a long time. From my point of view, the news and the views presented by media certainly affect our society.

For instance, countless products are being advertised by media in the form of newspaper, television, and radio which may help consumers while deciding upon a product, which has more appealing qualities. Additionally, the elections of government in several countries are greatly influenced by media, it helps in presenting agenda, facts, and views of politicians which motivates voters to elect their candidates and form a government. Also, it has been widely seen, media provides people with information about other cultures and countries the political and cultural development about other countries and contributes to the globalization. Furthermore, the media also promotes entertainment among people, they learn about movies, cultural shows, and numerous medium of entertainment through media.

However, media can also be misleading by presenting incorrect information about products and merchandise, it can affect the market greatly. Further, the media can be biased as well, for example, in America NewsChannel CNN always supports Democratic party, while Fox channel always favors the Republicans, which is entirely based upon their preferences and political agendas. Moreover, the media often tend to spread religious and communal propaganda among the people through their medium and they follow them blindly, which results in unnecessary fear and unrest in society.

To recapitulate, media provide a ton of information which can be beneficial if interpreted wisely. Certainly, the media impact our lives more positive way then the negative, if the source of news is verified and unbiased.