Meeting someone for the first time through the internet is

never a good idea.

Do you agree?

In recent years, there has been a rise in the usage of social media. There is a view that meeting strangers via internet is always detrimental. In my opinion, sharing of information with the person adds to the efficiency of sharing information and communication.

To begin with, establishing contacts via the internet has the reputation of being dangerous, unsafe and uncertain. This is because you have little idea about the person sitting in the front of the screen on the other side of the web; he may be a criminal or a person in disguise seeking revenge. If a person exchanges messages with the unknown person, he might get into trouble because of the leakage of his private chat. For example, a recent article in the Independent newspaper stated that cyber crime has been doubled in last few years, due to uncertainty of the other person. Thus, it seems that Internet is far from wise choice to set up personal links.

Nonetheless, this does not survive the experiences in which trust has already been built in advance. For instance, if a person applies for the job overseas, he gets interviewed over the internet services like Skype, where he shares his resume and personal information. Considering his information correct and useful to the company, he might get his dream job to work in that institution. Furthermore, it seems that many conferences and meetings are now held online, where information is exchanged, thus eventually saves and time and money for those companies. Therefore, internet acts as an effective way of communication and sharing information.

In conclusion, although it is not completely reliable to meet someone over the internet, it does provide numerous benefits like effective communication and ease of sharing information.