Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no harm saying that topic attracts immediate attention owing to its uniqueness. There are two dimensions to this topic, one set of people assert that writing letters is an obsolete medium of communication and is no longer required, however, other group of people are of the view that conventional methods can never be too old to use. I moderately agree that these mediums cannot be utilized in this fast era but using them mediums at a personal level of communication is no harm. Let's view both school of thoughts in details before reaching to a final verdict.

To begin with, it is undoubtedly accepted that with advancements in technology our modes of communication has been drastically changed over the time. These mediums such as email, fax, whatsapp saves a lot of time and hassle of writing letters and posting. For instance, in running days if we want to convey a message to someone, that is important yet urgent, this can be done with few clicks or taps of our laptop’s keyboard rather than writing a manual letter that will be delivered in many days based on the distance from one side to another.

On the contrary, we should not overlook the importance and value of conventional methods of communication that is writing letters by hand. This method includes a sense of personalization to the reader. For instance, sending a manual letter to someone these days may sound ridiculous but the receiver would perceive it as a token of affection from sender. In this fast paced competitive world, where people do not have time to spend with their loved ones. Sending someone a hand written letter definitely shows the value and affection of sender towards the reader.

To recapitulate the aforementioned argument, it is a positive reality that we do not require hand written letters as communication channel these days. But in order to value our ancestor’s inventions, we should be using them at personal level if not possible for business use.