Modern technology has increased material wealth, but not our happiness. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modern technology has made tremendous improvements in the living conditions of people the world over. More food, better medical facilities, improved transportation and extended educational opportunities have definitely helped to reduce the misery of vast sections of people, who had hitherto been condemned to poverty and deprivation. Hence, it is my view that modern technology has, through increasing material wealth, contributed to making our lives less miserable.

Most importantly, modern technology has helped to improve food production. Hunger and poverty were quite widespread, even in the most prosperous countries, in the not too distant past. However, with the introduction of modern agricultural implements, advanced irrigation and pest control, food production increased by leaps and bounds, which made it more available to vast sections of people, who had hitherto been largely denied the primary requirement of all living beings, food.

Moreover, the positive influence of technology is discernible in all walks of life. Thus, epidemics have more or less been obliterated as a result of improvements in medical technology. Furthermore, improved transportation and communication facilities have made educational opportunities available to the vast majority of people. And the enlightenment, facilitated through education, has contributed to laying the foundation of a happy life.

To conclude, advancement in technology has removed many of the impediments to a happy life for the majority of people far and wide. It is a fact that there are still people, who continue to suffer the deprivations of life, which make their existence miserable. Modern technology can be effectively used to improve their living conditions, which is the sine qua non of happiness