More and more developing countries are expanding their tourist industries. Why is this? Is it a positive development?

The tourism sector today is one of the biggest job creators. The impetus that the growing tourism industry provides to the economy has attracted many developing nations to focus on increasing revenue through this sector. I partially favor this development and this essay will discuss the reasons why the focus of governments has now shifted to the tourism sector followed by its positive and negative effects.

To begin with, the tourism industry in developing nations has long remained in a shambolic state with little or no assistance provided by governments. However, there has been a paradigm shift in this approach and states are now focusing on tourism as a way to generate revenues to fill the coffers. Additionally, the visitors not only bring revenue to the state but also generate employment opportunities for the local population and increase the sales for local traders. There are nations who have for long leveraged the fruits of the healthy tourism sector. For instance, tourism in Switzerland contributes a large chunk to its GDP. Therefore, it is not surprising that governments across developing nations are trying to replicate the success of countries like Switzerland.

However, there should be a fine balance between the growth in tourism and ecology. It should be the prerogative of the governments to help nature flourish between the thriving tourism industry. For instance, The Government in Nepal has taken a multi-million dollar initiate to clear Mt. Everest of trash. While tourist influx brings development and growth to the once neglected region, it takes a toll on the serendipity of the surroundings. A striking example of the perils of unchecked growth of tourists in a fragile landscape is the disaster of Kedarnath. Hence, it becomes far more important to maintain the ecological balance to avert any apocalypse while also creating more opportunities in this sector.

To conclude, I would say that the fig leaf of the tourism industry should not be allowed to spoil the nature. Every government owns the responsibility of catering to the demand of the population while also taking initiatives to save the environment from deterioration.