Most employers interview candidates before hiring them. Do you think this is the best way to do it, or are there better alternatives? In your opinion, what is the best method for choosing employees?

Recruiting new employees can be a long and painful process. The success of any business or organisation depends on the quality of its staff. Some employers conduct interviews to select new workers. I agree with the given statement which says that there are various other approaches. This essay intends to analyze methods of hiring new employees.

Undoubtedly, an interview is an important method of recruitment. If selection has to be done merely on an interview, then the interview has to be well executed. It requires a detailed understanding of the organizational needs as well as a careful grasp of the prospective employees’ responses. It is not an easy task. If the recruitment is small scale and only a few employees are needed, it can prove fruitful otherwise alternative methods to hire have to be taken into account.

There are many other methods, which can be employed to hire new personnel. These hiring methods are a combination of several step-by-step tests. Initially, job vacancies are advertised, after which the recruiters select resumes, which meet the basic requirements for that particular job position. Then the written test is conducted to judge the skills and knowledge of the person. This is followed by group discussions and some other skill tests. Then the shortlisted candidates are interviewed. After this, background checks and reference checks are done of those shortlisted after the interview. It is important to check the credit record and criminal record. The reference checks are done to ascertain the authenticity of what is written in the resume. Finally, the selected candidates are sent for a health check to rule out any communicable diseases.

Analyzing the above mentioned methods it can be seen that no single method is perfect. Each job has its own requirements. Some jobs require qualification and some require experience. Big companies have a department devoted to human resources, which takes care of the hiring issues, but for small businesses finding the right employees at the right times can be an especially time-consuming and frustrating struggle. External recruitment agencies can be assigned the task of searching suitable candidates for jobs, but it may be very expensive. However, I believe that spending on the recruitment of new employees can prove to be a good investment, as good employees can breathe new life into your business.

To sum up, it can be reiterated that finding suitable employees is an arduous task and has to be a combination of written tests, group discussions, interviews and reference checks