n Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some countries like Britain, when some people get older they move to an old age home to live with people of the same kind, with better medical facilities. In certain circumstances, the government pays for this care, while in other situations the family bears the cost for this facility. I'm of a balanced opinion. In some cases, countries could contribute and in other cases children could also provide for their parent’s upkeep.

To embark upon, In Many Asian countries where the economy is not developed in comparison to countries like the USA, the old-age care facilities can't be borne by the government due to many financial constraints. Families, therefore, let their grandparents or old parents live them, so their health and well-being can be taken care by the family themselves. While the cost for the same is borne by family. Another thing to consider is that, when many basic infrastructure issues of these developing or underdeveloped countries are still be fixed, the government would find it difficult to provide financial assistance for aged people. In very rare occasions the government would provide financial aid to aging people who have worked for the government, even in these cases the frugal pension given to them do not cover the medical expenses. Therefore, the major cost is still borne by the members of their family.

Secondly, there are many developed countries like the UK and France where old age care facilities are provided by the government itself. One of the main reasons for the same is that the government has a lot of surplus funds after attending to the basic needs of its citizens. Also, the medical facilities in these countries are well organized and rightly equipped that it can facilitate options like old age care, childcare etc. In a few instances, In Scandinavian, countries like Norway, which provide homes for the aged equipped with proper health care services in a friendly and a blissful atmosphere. Hence, it is considered number one country for senior citizens to stay in.

To conclude with, the old age care facility should be provided by the government in developed countries, whereas, in developing or underdeveloped countries the cost should be borne by the families.