News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures.

Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.

What is your opinion about this?

News stories provide us information on various subjects. It is generally believed that when this news comes with images they provide more information. I opine that it is true.

Firstly, news stories provide us information about affairs of the country. For example, we are able to know the progress of the voting through the news on TV and who the leaders of the party are through the images. Secondly, we are also updated about sports that are being played in various parts of the world like the cricket match between India and Pakistan. We also recognize these players easily as we have watched them appear in the news several times.

Images with stories help us get familiar with the situations. Crime rates have increased in certain areas of Dhaka. So when a crime takes place and that appears in the pictures people become more alert when travelling through that particular area or route. For example, there has been strike in Shahbag for several days. The people who did not know the area were able to get familiar with them through medium like the tv or newspaper. Moreover, we are able to recognize celebrities and important people around the world through these images. In addition, these images supply additional information that might not have been expressed in words.

However in some scenarios the images are not sufficient to provide the details. We need the support of words to depict the situation. For example, images of a murder are generally covered so that only the face of the victim is visible. Therefore, the accompanied story helps us get a clear idea of the brutality of the crime.

In conclusion, though in some situation it is difficult to perceive the meaning of the images without the help of the stories but most of the time the images provide a clear picture of the scenarios than words itself.