Not so many people use a bicycle although it has many benefits. Why is this the case? How to encourage people to use bicycles as a main transport?

It is known that ciclying brings benefits for people's health as well as for the environment; however, there are some low marks when comes to riding a bike in certain cases that make people dislike using it as a main transport.

On one hand, travelling on a bicycle is not as faster as using a car or public buses, and when people live far away from the city or their workplaces, they prefer to take some other types of transportation that could ensure them to get on time everywhere they may need to go. Furthermore, people could not travel as a family if they want to go to do some entertainment activities such going to the mall or visiting new towns, because there are not bicyles with the enough sits for the whole members of the family; besides, they do not have room to take bags or any additional items people may want to take with them or buy perhaps.

On the other hand, there are some countries where transportation on bicycles are adopted as a culture, which could be a good ida for every one to implement. Therefore educational campaigns should be developed in order to let people know about all the benefits they would access to by riding a bike. Also, governments should build an organised and complete routes to enable people to get to all the places where they are usually taken by the buses, cars, taxis and other transports. Moreover, their prices should be reasonable, not too expensive to make sure people with even the lowest incomes could buy a bicycle.

To conclude, the use of bicycles as main transport is not probably going to happen right now, but with the governments help this could be a goal for every country to achieve on a near future, by building bicycle's routes and fostering a new environmental-friendly culture.