Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this.

Why is this happening?

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There is a trend for relationships within a family to be distanced compared to older days and is a situation largely accepted in today’s society. This essay will discuss the reasons for this and review the benefits and drawbacks.

One significant contributing factor to impairing family connections is the busy lifestyle that we now live. Most people are having to work longer hours to demonstrate their performance, so they simply do not spend much time with one and another. Another factor is technological advancement, modern technology has caused people to be more interested in their online life in comparison to physical interaction with families.

It could be argued this has benefits. When people are not as closely connected, they can be more carefree, and pursue their own dream and aspiration. However, I believe there are more negative outcomes, such as one would become more emotional due to lack of security. Further, there is an increasing trend of people developing mental illness and impairing their health due to the high level of anxiety. We are living at an age where we face competition each day and we need support from close partners to help with coping with this difficult modern life.

To conclude, hectic lifestyles had change the culture value we see family’s bond and modern technology has caused families to distance. It is important to maintain a connection with families and friends as human are emotional and group-living animals. The support one could get from another outweighs pursuing a materialistic life without someone to share with.