Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be What do you think are the causes of this What can be done to make families closer

The only thing, eternal in this world is "change", it is the biggest truth that nothing in this world is permanent. Although some people still believe in the notion of traditional joint family structure where people used to be close to each other. However, in modern era, the ideology of living of all the family members together under one roof is quite unrealistic.

Though, there are many reasons for this drastic change but the most important factor I think, is the employment opportunities. That is, in earlier times people used to stay in their own villages to help parents taking care of their family business or farming. Due to this they used to spent time together, share their problems and celebrate festivals altogether. Hence, they used to get connected strongly with each other emotionally. Conversely, nowadays, young generation is migrating to cities because of more job opportunities and thus getting detached from their roots and parents as well.

In addition, the cost of living has risen to great extent as compared to bygone. In current situation it is difficult to sustain with only one person earning in a family. So, both husband and wife has to work which leads to less spare time to spend with family. This in turn not only creates a communication barrier between family members but also makes the bonding feeble.

Though, there are many more issues that have emerged this problem but I firmly believe that this scenario can definitely be changed. I can certainly say that with efforts and will power solution to every problem can be find out. For example, if a family decides to go out on weekends with their parents, grandparents, uncle and aunts to spend some quality time with each other then I am sure that they will soon develop intimacy.

To recapitulate, I would like to assert on a point that a family is the most important part of everyone's life because the love and care that we receive from family members is inestimable and irreplaceable. So, one should do everything to have a close knit family.