Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be.

What do you think are the causes of this?

What can be done to make families closer?

It is but an obvious reality that the family bonds have weakened during the past decade. I believe this is absolutely true and various factors such as education, diverse ideologies in one family, lack of personal space, and busy lifestyles, to name a few, are to blame. In this essay, I will elaborate some of the causes and present solutions to tackle this problem.

One cannot deny the necessary love and support for each member of the family is being faded. Families for generations used to follow their elders' footstep and family work, but as the time the has passed the lives have become busier and it is common to see both partners working throughout the day and have less time for each other. Besides, newer generations are attracted to other streams that are more in demand and up to date and have better pay, thus the children eventually move out to pursue higher education at the university. Furthermore, teenagers of this era demand more personal space once they hit adolescence, when compared to their counterparts 30 years ago. For instance, it is commonly observed teenagers prefer to spend time in their room alone or spend time with their friends more often than the family.

However, I believe with a few tweaks in the families, this bonding would stay strong. Firstly, parents need to try to bring their ideas and opinions closer to what the ongoing children are expecting. For instance, with the increased security in the society during day and night, it is no longer a definite threat for a child if they stay out longer in the evenings. Secondly, imposing ideas and judging them would just push them further away, therefore parents have to be more of a friend to their children so that they would open up and discuss their issues comfortably.

To conclude, It is acknowledged that the relations in the families have been affected negatively in recent years and extra measures have to be taken by the parents to maintain the strong affections in the family.