Nowadays, families move to different countries for work. Some people think it has a negative effect on children, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Emigration to a new country has been prevalent amongst people throughout the world, especially those who live in underdeveloped countries, to find a better state of living and more appropriate financial condition. This issue has sparked controversy over its effect on children of emigrant families. While many people favour the idea that it contains a lot of drawbacks including spiritual and social ones for children, others argue that it could serve children by enormous advantages. I am of the view that although it benefits children in different ways, its downsides should not be neglected.

To begin with, children who have been forced to emigrate to a new country with their families might encounter challenges in front of them which are to be settled. First of all, when you move to a new country, it is inevitable for you to learn the language of that country to be able to communicate and satisfy your rudimentary needs. Although it is allegedly said that children are more likely to be successful in learning a second language than adults, this fact could not be denied that learning a new language is a challenging mater for every individual which requires immense endeavour to be fulfilled. Furthermore, children are categorized as the most emotionally sensitive group of the society becoming dependent on their present living environment and surrounding people like their friends, teachers and so forth. Therefore, they might be more susceptible to emotionally remain bonded to the people of their previous life and suffer from the absence and lack of those people resulting in several emotional and spiritual problems for them. Last but not the least, children might find it so difficult to blend into a new society with thoroughly different and kind of exotic culture, especially at the very first months of resettlement. Based on the age and the personality of the emigrant adolescents, the level of this difficulty could differ from one to another.

On the positive side, children could benefit from certain advantages provided for them by the new society. Firstly, a new society could supply children with new educational opportunities which did not exist in their own countries. It is commonplace for people to migrate to developed countries which embody suitable educational facilities like schools, universities and training institutions. This way, the children of the migrant families receive more decent education proliferating their fortune of becoming successful in the future. Furthermore, when parents are compensated better for the work they are doing, could more easily support their children and eradicate the poverty which could have been encountered if they hadn’t migrated and had stayed in their own country. Besides, children who overcome the challenge of resettlement in a new country at young ages, would personally fortify and gain more self-esteem which is of great privilege in their future.

As outlined above, while emigration to a new country provide different benefits for children and could ease their way to satisfaction and prosperity in life, it comprises its own drawbacks and challenging problems which are likely to outweigh the benefits, unless they are dealt with properly. Whether migration to a new country is beneficial or not is a matter of fact that intensely depends on the way that a family manage it and get along with it.