Nowadays, individual take their family with them to abroad whenever they go for business trip

Owing to globalization, international business tours have become popular. Many businessmen prefer taking families while having work assignments in different country. This is a positive trend although has some drawbacks which will be discussed in this essay.

On the positive side, knowing the foreign country benefits the family. In other words, families interact and make new friends, learning the distinct culture, tradition and life-style of people living there. This experience is incredible and adds to the knowledge and wisdom, which definitely cannot be gained from books or staying in home country. Secondly, for the employees who have long onshore assignments can work efficiently when accompanied with spouse and children. In this case, he will not feel home-sick, resulting into more focus at job. For instance, Sheena got on site in Germany, and staying 5 years was trouble free as family was together.

Another benefit of taking family is about learning foreign language. People spend years to learn foreign language still they cannot learn it because they do not use it frequently. However, if the person moves to country where he need to speak foreign language to communicate, he will definitely get fluent in it because of speaking it often with native people. The Indians in England are known to speak English effectively although they never learned in school is the best example of learning foreign language in foreign land. Thus, it is good for family to get an opportunity to learn different language if they are moving abroad for work.

On the other hand, some people argue that it is costly as the family shifts to other country. According to them, only the person on assignment can complete the work and return, instead of taking the family. Even the organization's funds on sponsoring the family would be saved.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that although the family settlement involves some budget, it is still worthwhile to take the members during the onshore work visits. This would forge the family due to incredible knowledge it gains by knowing the country, and would enable the employee to work efficiently without worrying of family in home country. Thus, for overall benefit of individual and the family, it is advisable to visit the new place together.