Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Recently there has been a substantial increase in the number of self-employed people. This trend prevails because of various factors like independence and autonomy in work. However, there are many demerits of this work culture like financial burden and work pressure that cannot be overlooked. This essay will further discuss on the same

In this contemporary world, everyone requires his or her own pace of life. Hence, they do not want to be micro-managed by anyone and wish to work in their style and get things completed in their unique way. Nevertheless, this could not be possible when people are working under an organization, where their seniors will always supervise their work. For example, for the client demo held last Saturday I prepared to show the project progress using milestone charter that gives the clear picture of project status, whereas my project manager doesn't liked it and suggested me to remove them which doesn't mean that whatever I did was wrong. At times this gives us hatred towards the job, which we love the most and that meant a lot to us. That is the reason; there is an emerging trend of startup companies where everyone can work in their own autonomy.

On the other hand, there are many drawbacks as consequence of this work pattern. The individual should bear the entire financial backup of the company, whatever the position of the company maybe, whether it is in profit or loss. This landed many of the people in debts that cannot be paid back in their lifetime. Being an entrepreneur were the onus of the company's management lies on them, which leads to more workload and pressure. For instance, being self-employed, a person should look after the various aspects of company like to resource management, Finance Management, admin works and production Management that further develops the work stress.

In Conclusion, working independently has become incredibly common these days. Liberty and freedom in thoughts are the two essential things that lacks in a managerial company. Nevertheless, self-employment is also an arduous task, when not done diligently leads to the financial debts and work overloads. This essay discussed on the reasons for the developing trend of self-employment and the disadvantages of this work culture.