Nowadays, many schools find it profitable to sell unhealthy food and sugary drinks to students during lunch breaks. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In this day and age, most of the schools gain more money by selling junk foods to school students during their afternoon break. Recent research shows that about 70% of the school provide fried foods to their students while they are in their lunch time. Obviously, this is a negative development as it precursors to hazardous effects like Obesity, chronic diseases at an early age. We will discuss the ill effects and suggestions in the below essay

First of all, school management should not be money oriented and they must care about their students. Few of the schools sell unhygienic foods inside the campus which includes Ice creams, Soft drinks, Fried items and highly contagious food items. It doesn’t only invite diseases but also degrade the reputation of a school. For instance, due to the recent incident happened at West Bengal in State school of Calcutta piqued overall state disease level by 10%. The students were provided with cheap ice cream which was manufactured from nearby pond water. Eventually, nearly 400 children fell sick and could not recovered from the disease for a month. Management should be cautious on what is being served inside the school.

On the same vein, this negative development can also lead to ailments at a young age. The latest Unicef report shows that Obesity has increased for nearly 20% among young generation when compared to last decade. This proves as an evidence that these Soft drinks and unhealthy foods will have negative impact on the kids. Level of sugar added in these kinds of drinks is 25 times greater than the normal drinks. Apparently, students will prefer junk foods over traditional healthy foods.

To elucidate, schools must be careful in selling foods and be mindful of what is being served. They can replace these scrap foods by vending healthy foods like fresh juice, sprouts, vegetable salads, tender coconut etc. This will not only fortify the health benefits but also affordable to the school kids. It is my hope management should give utmost priority to these food habits and not be inundated with the profits gained by selling unhealthy foods and drinks.