Obesity is a growing problem in most of the countries. On average, weight of
people is increasing in many countries. This essay will discuss the reasons of
growing obesity and solutions to prevent it.
Consumption of unhealthy food items is surprisingly being overlooked in the
society. Because people do not have time to prepare healthy meals in their
fast moving lives, they are left with no choice, but to eat junk food. In United
Kingdom, for example, as per the survey conducted by Stephen Hawking, a
Professor in Metropolitan University, every 9 out of 10 people tend to eat
unhealthy meals because of their hectic routines. Although, the consumption
of unhygenic cuisines has immensely contributed in obesity among people in
different parts of the world, lack of physical activity is considered a major
factor as well. People with almost no physical activity are more likely to
become overweight than the one who actively follow a healthy lifestyle. For
these reasons, unhealthy food consumptions and limited physical activities is
making people excessively fat.
In order to control the increasing weight, healthy foods must be encouraged
and promoted among the society. Governments of different countries must
take the initiative and come up with a plan of highlighting the benefits of
healthy eating. For example, a marketing campaign can be launched globally
outlining the drawbacks of unhealthy food. Moreover, heavy taxes should be
imposed on fast food restaurants to discourage the society for consuming
unhealthy eateries. This can play an important role in declining the obesity
rate among different parts of the world.
In conclusion, there is no doubt that unhealthy diet and less active lifestyle are
the main cause in increasing weight among majority of the countries; but it
can be prevented by promoting healthy lifestyle and imposing heavy taxes on
unhygenic food items.