Older people often choose to spend money on themselves (e.g. on holidays) rather than save money for their children after retirement.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Some senior citizens spend their whole life to earn the money for survival as well as, to fulfill the desires. On the other hand, individuals save capital for their wife, sons, daughters, and sometime grandchildren’s.

Since last multiple decades, it has been observed that aged persons have invested complete life to become the successful breadwinner for their family. Also, they were doing inevitable efforts to save wealth for after retirement life. From the ancient era it was mentality that we should not be dependent on next generation such as sons, daughters.

Therefore, golden ager has been invested the saving into Fixed Deposits, Properties, Land’s, and National Pension Schemes, last but not the least Employee Public Fund.

Nevertheless, some elderly persons spent income on their children education, provide financial help to youngers to enhancement business and spend most of money to build houses, properties. By doing this, pensioners will make sure his or her next generation should suffer with wealth crises, and they can leave life without any hurdle. While doing above achievements for family, senior citizens feel proud on himself or herself. Owing to, they feel that they have done their job in appropriate manners so, next generation will appreciate them.

I admittedly agree that old age persons should spend their hard-earned money on own self enjoyment, to cite an example, post retirement elderly individual or couple can go world-tour as well as spend money to fulfill their wishes. Specifically, they can plan vacations on any historical places, beaches, explore the mountains, famous hill stations. Which was not possible during the middle age.