One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Many major cities now have to deal with massive traffic congestion. The primary cause of this phenomenon is the increase of private vehicles and the most viable solution is to educate young people about this issue.

The increasing number of owned cars and motorbikes is the main reason behind major gridlocks and traffic jams. This is because there is not enough room for a huge number of vehicles traveling on a street at the same time. This situation is even made worse when the capacity of streets is not expanded to maintain the flow of traffic and everyone loves to sit in their private vehicle for their own convenience. For example, traffic jams in Ho Chi Minh City now occur every day due to the overload of private cars and motorbikes.

A long term solution to this predicament is to educate young people about the consequence of traffic congestion in developed cities. Children in schools could be taught about the delay in daily work and other routines due to gridlocks in big cities. They are then to teach their parents about what they learnt at schools and adults will also be influenced by this initiative. Subsequently, people will be aware to stop driving their own vehicles on the streets for their own sake. For instance, school children in Hanoi were taught that traffic congestion could badly affect their study and many parents now turn to use public transportation to reduce traffic jams in the city.

In conclusion, many metropolia are facing severe gridlocks more frequently because there are too many people want to own and drive their own cars, however, the young should be taught about the negative effects of this problem on their daily lives to tackle it.