Ordinary people try to copy famous people either reading magazines or watching TV. Why do they do this? Do you think it is a good idea to copy famous people

It is commonplace for normal people to idolize important people in society, this they do by imitating their lifestyle that they see on the pages of magazines or on television. While different people have various opinions about this, I believe discretion should be applied as to which famous persons we can imitate. This essay will also attempt to answer why ordinary people attempt to be like their idols.

Some ordinary people imitate celebrities because they believe that these celebrities are a mirror of success, in other words, their desire to appear successful will make them dress like, talk like and even walk like these famous people. For instance, a lot of young normal people wear dreadlocks now to imitate their 'successful' idols who are musical artistes or sports personalities. Also, they do this to be acceptable to their peers who already have been influenced by the lives of some of these famous people. Statistics from the Map online survey has it that over 75% of people do things just because their peers are doing it.

Undoubtedly, there are some benefits of modelling your life after important personalities. It puts into perspective the power of focus; the mentees have a defined way he or she wants to live their lives and thus learns from the experience of their mentors, hence they quickly get to their desired destination in life on good time. Another good reason for copying famous personalities is the aura of self- confidence and self-actualization of seeing yourself like your idol, this propel you to achieve what they have achieved. For instance, most footballers talk about watching Thierry Henry, an Arsenal FC legend, from when they were kids and worked to replicate his success.

Despite these awesome benefits, there are some downsides to copying famous people; some of them have behaved inappropriately, exhibiting negative characters like drinking or child pornography as in the case of R. Kelly

In conclusion, while it is normal to imitate the good qualities of our superstars because they are successful, I believe caution should also be applied to discard the less desirable qualities of these famous people