Overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that the population is plummeted in the last few decades. Few people argue that the earth's problems are many, but mostly is overpopulation. I agree with the latter statement and I will explain my view with the relevant examples in this essay.

Firstly, the planet Earth is going through devastation and the overload of mankind is the reason behind it. There are three major issues namely, pollution, extinction of natural conservation, and global warming. The cause of global warming is inversely proportional to the depletion of the ozone layer. It has adverse effects on other parts of the world. For example, the rate of melting glaciers. Although the water occupies 70% of the earth, there is an increase in water levels. Moreover, another issue is the reduction of flora and fauna due to deforestation.

However, these causes are connected to human beings. Another challenge is pollution and this is because of the inappropriate exploitation of natural resources. For instance, the bad sewage arrangements have led to water pollution, whereas the traffic and firecrackers due to the overly populated humans have caused air pollution. Furthermore, this excessive-quality of air has led to the disappearance of the ozone layer.

To sum up, it is true that the current natural disasters are unavoidable and the foremost reason behind the problems is mostly the excessive population in many countries. I certainly agree and I think this cannot be avoided considering the situation, but can be controlled for the worst that can happen in the future by declining the birth rate, and pollution and embracing the gifts from Mother Earth instead of exploiting her.