People are never satisfied and always want more.

In what ways is this a good thing and in what ways is this a bad thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an argument that people are always unhappy with what they have and wish to have more than they do. This tendency should be considered as both positive and negative because of the following reasons.

On the one hand, constant dissatisfaction affects one's emotional stability. If someone does not fulfil needs and desires, they become frustrated and start looking for ways to compensate for the lack of things they want to have. Unfortunately, such people tend to drugs or alternative reality of the internet; there they can live their dreams.

Moreover, unlimited hunger for more things to obtain can be risky for people's health. To buy one more car or to travel to a tropical country more than once a year, people must work harder and earn higher salaries. Thus, they have not one but two jobs working till late hours without weekends, which raises multiple health issues. Recent studies showed that 75% of Americans have more than one job and are diagnosed with heart diseases ten times more often than others.

On the other hand, those who do not stop successfully reach their goals. A self-motivated person who consistently works on their life standards' improvement is capable of inventions that are useful for society. For example, my husband is never satisfied with the amount of money we have, so he regularly comes up with business projects and ideas for additional income. Recently, he invented the machine that traces the smallest gas leak, and now he has sold over 1,500 items to the locals. Undoubtedly, his perfectionism is beneficial for our family.

To conclude, while some people can be significantly productive and successful because they desire to have more than they have, it can backfire to them with negative consequences, like depression, addictions and health problems. To avoid those drawbacks, people should learn to enjoy their lives and be adequate with their desires.