People think that old buildings should be knocked down and given way to the new buildings. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? how important are old buildings to us?

Different buildings have different lifespans and values depending upon the weather, geological constraints and construction norms of a country. Tearing down old buildings indiscriminately and without understanding the real worth of them will be over the top. i agree with this statement partly, as described below.

Some old buildings have intrinsic value. they are a perfect reflection of the history and civilization. Every city needs old buildings to maintain a sense of heritage and permanency. People and tourists take pleasure witnessing the aesthetic and cultural history of a particular area. There is no doubt old buildings attract people because of their architectural marvelous , unique shapes and warmth. therefore, there is no other alternative, but to preserve them at any cost because of their historic significance.

In contrast, each old building may not be the perfect candidate for conservation. the above -mentioned buildings signify heritage properties, monuments, buildings representing the center of attractions and are of special values. Other buildings which are in a dilapidated condition or awkwardly blocking the urban development need to be knocked down if they were meant to be for the renewed needs of the city. for example, the civic authority must tear down those buildings that pose a threat to people who live in them and pedestrians owing to its poor condition and low quality construction.

I assert that new buildings make sense for certain business, and there is no denying. However, i also believe that restaurants, pubs, bookstore, galleries, small start-ups and even some banks thrive in old buildings.

In conclusion, it is the civic authority or any other concerned department that as to assess whether a building needs to be demolished or not.old buildings that carry the special value should be conserved for various benefits.