Prison is th best punishment for criminals. Discuss.

Nowadays, the crime rate has increased dramatically. To deal with this alarming trend, some politician claim that sentencing criminals to prison is the best form of punishment, while guards in prisons are opposed to them and argue that it may deteriorate the situation. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and agree with the politicians.

Let us start by looking at reasons why some politicians believe that prison is the best form penalty. The first reason is that it brings relief to victims. Take the victims of rape for example. Women tend to feel protected, if they know the rapist is behind the bars, since they no longer fear being under attack again. Another reason is that it can make the convict bring an end to their anti-social lifestyle. Ex-prisoners usually refuse to return to criminal life, when they serve their sentence and go back to society as a normal citizen. After the consideration of the reasons, it is clear that jail is one of best methods of punishment for villains.

On the other hand, some guards in prisons state that prison is the worst form of penalty. They justify their point of view with the following arguments. First of all, jail is too harsh for petty crimes. What I mean by this is that criminals, who are found guilty for non-serious crimes such as shoplifting, should not rub shoulders with either murderers or terrorists, because they can learn to commit more severe crimes from them as soon as they are released. Secondly, ex-prisoners face problems in public. Former inmates often face negative attitude in society owing to social fear and prejudice after they are released from jail. As a result, they cannot find a job and eventually resort to crime again when they have to make a living. After the analysis of the argumentations, it is obvious that prison is not an appropriate kind of punishment.

In conclusion, even though some jail guards make a statement that imprisonment is not the greatest sort of punishment, personally, I believe that prison is one of the most appropriate ways of punishing offenders in most cases.