Q.Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although some people argue that children must be given punishment for the crime that they had committed, others believe that child’s parents should be convicted. In my opinion, rather than punishing the parents, I believe that children should be put in prison, so that they do not re-offend the crime.

On the one hand, some individuals think that giving punishment to children who are engaged in violent crimes is crucial as it will refrain them from not re-offending the crime. This is because when they will be punished, they would understand that they would be solely responsible for their unlawful, and therefore, they would think twice before getting involved in any other lawbreaking activity. As an illustration, number of juveniles, who were admitted in rehabilitation centres as there punishment, were fewer in comparison to others where no form of action was taken against them. Thus, I believe that it is vital that child shoud be punished in order to restrain them from breaking the law again.

On the other hand, juveniles’ parents need to be punished as they are solely responsible for their child’s violent actions. Parents must be aware about their child’s activities, such as what their child is doing every day, and under whose company child is spending most time with. If parents will closely watch their child, it might be a possibility that no child would commit crime as they would be afraid of being so closely watched. However, by punishing parents, no child can improve due to the fact that they know they will not be punished.

In conclusion, while parents prison can help them understand what they did wrong in their child upbringing, but I believe that child should be given strict punishment rather than their parents as they will be afraid of re-offending their crime