In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development ?

In the current scenario, several small shops have shut down as there is a preference for big shopping complexes over them. In my opinion, I agree that this development is positive as it is beneficial to both society and the government.

There are umpteen reasons why individuals do shopping in the large shopping plazas. Primarily, in contrast to the small-scale stores where the shopkeepers sell goods at the price of their own convenience and there is no guarantee that the purchaser will get the original product, there is fixed price on the shops in malls, as, one has not to waste time in doing bargaining or fight for the correct price of the product. Also, the customer can return the bought goods easily as there is not much hassle in branded stores.

Furthermore, there are multiple stores at one place and customers do not have to travel to different places if they have to buy myriad products. In other words, the malls have a plethora of shops such as clothes, grocery, food joints and people can have better shopping experience, as local shops do not provide multiple things in one place. For example, In Chandigarh's Elante mall, people can enjoy shopping and food in one place. If they feel hungry while buying clothes, they can go to the food court.

Another point of significant importance is that the authorities will be benefitted by this approach. Unlike, local stores, if many people go to the shopping center for purchasing things, they will travel by their cars. When they reach there, they have to park their vehicles at the paid parking spots and this will provide a monetary benefit to the city administration.

In conclusion, according to the above-mentioned analysis, it is more helpful if there are more large-scale shopping complexes than small ones.