In the recent years, there has been an increase in the number of people got killed on the road. Traffic designers blame drivers for driving too fast and drivers say the roads are bad. Who is to be blamed for the accidents deaths caused on roads?

Death toll has been increased significantly in various parts of the world over the last few years. Large numbers of casualties are happening due to over speeding, violation of traffic rules and poor infrastructure of roads. People associated with traffic department claim that rash driving, excessive speed of cars and unwilling attitude to follow rules and regulation by drivers are the primary reasons for accidents. However, drivers say that lack of preemptive measures, inadequate road facilities and pathetic design of roads immensely increased the risk of accidents. I believe that both drivers and traffic designers are mutually responsible for the rise of road tragedies.

It is the main responsibility of traffic department to take necessary measures to control such incidents by introducing legislation for driving. Firstly, there is a need to fix the speed limit while driving in the city and outside city. Surveillance cameras should be installed on busiest parts of the city to monitor speed limit. Furthermore, new and strict rules of law should be implemented. People found guilty of breaking laws should be sentenced to jail or imposed heavy fines.

Drivers can play a pivotal role in mitigating the traffic woes. They should be given training of driving and a need of comprehensive test that include both practical and theoretical test. This will ensure their capacity of driving and knowledge about traffic rules. In addition to this, Government should make attempts to organise seminars and workshops to increase awareness among drivers.

To sum up, I would like to say that it is an equal responsibility of both drivers and lawmakers to take precautionary steps to avoid any injuries. There is dire need of legislation on the traffic designers end and also need to create perceptiveness among drivers.