As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people traveling, there is a growing demand for more flights. what problems does this have on the environment? what measures could be taken?

Due to easy access to air travel, the trend of travelling for touristic or other reasons has significantly increased. Many countries are adding flights every day to meet this huge demand and this is worrisome for environmentalists. This superfluous air travel has damaged air quality and can be avoided by discouraging travelling for leisure.

Growing number of flights everyday has lead to sharp rise in air pollution in last decade. This is due to byproducts of fuel, left in the air, used to drive aeroplanes. Since the engine of aeroplane needs large amount of energy for ignition alone, fuel is used in massive quantities. Needless to say, the pollution index rises exponentially with each air vehicle passing through the air. Statistics show that air quality in countries, where air travel is popular, has dropped by 55% in last five years.These figures are clear manifestation of havoc, frequent usage of air transport is wreaking on the environment.

The best way to reduce the number of flights is to impose heavy environment taxes on tourism. In last few years, most of the air travelers have been tourists because tickets are cheap and flights are readily available. Considering the levels of rise in pollution, air travelling for the sake of fun cannot be afforded so, governments should move to tax such trips. It will force masses to think twice about environment damage before booking a ticket to exotic destination, and reduce this trend altogether. Furthermore, the money collected from such taxes can be used to find alternative energy resources for air vehicles and make strategies for protection of environment.

To conclude, to meet the increasing demand of travelling by air, airports have added more flights in their schedule but it has deteriorated air quality. Therefore, this issue needs to be addressed immediately and it can only be done by implementing financial restrictions on tourism in the form of environment protection tax.