The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The emergence of convenience foods has brought about some advantages for people who have to cope with the fast pace of the modern life particularly in metropolitan cities. This essay will explain the advantages of this occurrence following by refuting the fact that this could have some outweighing disadvantages.

First of all, spending less time to prepare a meal, people who consume fast food experience more convenient situation. This consequently results in possessing more time to handle their hectic daily routines. As a salient example, in the United States there is an increasing trend towards comfort foods. This has occurred due to the fact that people are not able to save enough time for preparation of home-made meals. Further and even more importantly, though, ready-made foods have a significant variety which makes people of any social strata enjoy other nations’ special cuisines. This can also cause an acceptable diversity of various required nutrition in their diet. Chinese and Eastern Asian foods are prime examples of what people in western countries can opt to eat while it might be impossible to cook such meals at home.

On the other hand, some may contend that this types of food may cause ailments such as cardio vascular diseases or obesity problems. This can be refuted by the fact that not only are some healthy comfort foods available in the market, but also people ought to consider regular sports activities as their healthy pursuits to curb such difficulties. Some fast foods containing organic ingredients, for example, can be mentioned as a healthy diet for those who are struggling with such problems.

Over all, although some maintain that convenience foods have some demerits such as their health problems, it is restated that their merits including the fact that they are less time consuming and more diverse outweighs the disadvantages.