The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be mad

Increase in the number of individual cars on road is directly proportional to increase in air pollution, sound pollution, and decrease in availability of space on roads. It is the one the important factor that reduces the life expectancy.Developed cities has overcome this situation by using other means of public transport such buses, trains etc.Let us discuss about advantages of using public transport.

Firstly, By using public transport we can reduce the number of vehicles on the road by which traffic jams would be minimal. In Capital city of India called Delhi, the government has decided to reduce the number of vehicle movements on road.They introduced new rule called Odd/Even numbers.The vehicles with odd numbers at the end would moving on Monday,Wednesday and Friday. Even numbers movement would be on other days.Citizens traveled in public transport or arranged car pool which reduced amount of traffic in city and vehicle used to travel in an order.

Secondly, Roads needs to expanded due to the rise in number of personal vehicles. For preparation of it, Many trees are cut down due which pollution gets increased.Public transportation usage does not require expansion of roads. let us take an example of Rome, a beautiful city of architecture. Due to sudden rise in self driven vehicles air and sound pollution rose.

Many monuments where losing its captivity and glow. Government of decided to use less personal vehicle in inner part of city. They allowed on government buses movement inside the city.

Finally, I conclude that Quality of life in cities can only be increased by its people thinking in an aspect of environment. Less use of personal transport, more benefits to the society.