Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language.

Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

The increasing use of language has led to a prospect that the world may speak one language in the future. While this has some advantages, I believe that it is a negative trend.

On the one hand, it is true that having a universal language has several benefits to the society. First, it would remove communication barrier among people in the world. When people speak the same language, this would result in fewer misunderstandings caused by people using different languages. Secondly, people can access easily to huge store of knowledge written in other languages. As a result, they have opportunity to become experts in variety areas. This would help the country build the strong intellectual workforce which could act as catalyst for the long-term development of the country.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that this trend has negative impact on many countries in the world. If a language is spoken by everyone, this would cause the loss of cultural diversity that makes human society more interesting. When a language is eliminated, a whole way of life may disappear with it including history, customs and traditions. For example, the widespread use of English has put some minor native languages in Africa to the brink of extinction. Without proactive actions to protect these languages, the society may witness the disappearance of the entire culture that has develop throughout human history.

In conclusion, although a global language has several benefits, I believe that the drawbacks are more significant.