A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses.

Why do many countries face water shortages, and what could be done to alleviate the problem?

These days, the lack of water is threatening to many regions of the world. Some ecologists state that countries should urgently cope with this phenomenon because the problem with water is getting worse day by day. In this essay, I will discuss the main reasons and purpose possible solutions.

One of the biggest reasons is that people tend to overuse water. For many, families make use of water when it would better to turn off the tap. For example, excessive use of water usually happens if people brush their teeth and forget to turn off the tap, so they squander it in large amounts as a habit. The way forward might be for the government to encourage households to use water rationally. To put it another way, officials should launch advertising campaigns teaching citizens to take care of water and change their wasteful habits. As a result, water consumption would drop considerably, and it would ease the problem with water shortage.

Another reason is that industries often dispose of toxic waste into water resources. In other words, they have a tendency to collect chemicals, which come from production as a side effect, in the local reservoirs and sometimes empty them illegally into the environment, especially into rivers, because the waste usually dissolves quickly in the liquid, and, therefore, it is difficult to find the offender. As a consequence, the potable water can become seriously polluted and dangerous to use. Addressing this problem involves deterring polluters from dumping chemicals into water with heavy fines and making them install filters.

To sum up, there is no doubt that water scarcity is usually caused by people and industries. However, I think that this issue can be tackled if the officials take the above-mentioned measures. Otherwise, countries will eventually face an acute lack of water in cities and outflow of population in search of water.