Should a city try to preserve its old historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Historic monuments are the buildings which were built in ancient times. As per my opinion, old monuments should be maintained instead of demolishing them and constructing new building at that place. I will justify my opinion in upcoming paragraphs.

A city is always known for its old sculptures and monuments. A city having historical buildings is always considered to be rich in heritage. These depict the history of the place and many memories are associated with them. These places also remind of the life of the ancestors. Some monuments are so uniquely built that new modern technology buildings cannot even copy them. For instance, the metal used in Ashoka temple in Delhi is still a suspense for the scientists. This metal has never got rusted or destroyed. Along with this, these monuments can be the tourist attraction and many people come to see them and admire their Beauty. This also enhances the economic condition of that place and funds which are collected can be used for conserving these buildings.

On the other hand, new modern technology buildings will pose a threat on the environment by creating congested atmosphere. If old monuments will be replaced by the shopping malls or cinema halls, this will also cause menace in the area and there will be no open space left for fresh air. Beside this, new buildings will be equipped with modern equipments which will liberate harmful gases and will affect the surroundings.

In conclusion, cultural heritage should be conserved by repairing and maintaining the old monuments which depict the history of that area.