The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people nowadays believe that means of advertisement should be eliminated from the contemporary world, as there are little advantages from them and sometimes they even cause damage to the community. However, I personally disagree with this statement. In my opinion, I believe advertising is commercially beneficial and there are several actions instead of prohibition that can be taken to prevent the harmful effect.

First and foremost, the common drawbacks of this marketing method would be prevented by some governmental regulation. Firstly, buyers usually worry about dishonesty in product advertising. Even if products are properly introduced, sometimes the companies might boast about essential features, such as the outstanding effects or eternal longevity. It seems to be a threat at the first glance, however by imposing severe punishment to such behaviours, the government can prevent them immediately. Additionally, if parents believe their children might expose to inappropriate visual commercials, many enterprises nowadays, such as YouTube and Netflix, have introduced rules which restrict that type of content away from children under 18. Therefore, the ban of advertisement is unnecessary, as long as adults have awareness about its influence.

Besides, advertisement plays an important role in business, and it is also beneficial for the buyers. It was invented to illustrate products visually. For example, television commercials provide viewers with essential information like size, shape, special features of the commodity being advertised. Meanwhile, if people just vaguely understand the functions of an appliance, to watch a video of advertisement would be far more straightforward than to search for an instruction.

In conclusion, although the negative outcomes of advertisement can be serious, it would be solved simply by stringent rules given by authorities and platform owners. Also, it is beneficial in many ways to both businesses and customers. As a result, I believe a total prohibition of advertisement is unreasonable. Instead, we should encourage healthy ones to be generated.