In some countries, employees are generally given two weeks of paid vacation time each year.

In other countries, employees are given four or six weeks of paid vacation time.

Considering the needs of both employee and employer,

what do you think is a reasonable amount of paid vacation time for employees to have?

In many countries, it has been argued for quite a long time that how many earned or paid holiday should be provided to workers by any organization. However, while I believe that employees should be entitled for at least three weeks of holiday with salary annually, I also think that it should be extended on the basis of their requirements such as medical emergency, family problems, and study-related leaves. In this essay, I will discuss further how the requirements of workers' and companies' should be fulfilled by providing equal number of paid holidays.

To begin with employees requirement, they cannot work continuously throughout the year, they need rest between working hours because they are humans not robots. Nowadays, it has become a mandatory law to provide casual leaves to all employees with pay whereas previously, they were not allowed to take any holiday, they were charged with salary deduction in case of any leave taken. Moreover, it has become mandatory to provide vacation with pay to follow rules. In multinational companies, for instance, employees are entitles to take at least two weeks of paid holidays.

On the other hand, employer has some consequences of providing vacation along with salary to employees such as extra financial burden, loss of working hours, and delay in product delivery. Although paid leaves provides many benefits to employees, at the same time, it is also impacting employer product delivery. So, they should be provided with two weeks of break. In many organizations, for example, they have to hire some extra resources to work in absence of other employees who are planning their paid vacation.

In my opinion, employees should be given at least three weeks of paid leave because it could be beneficial for employer as well as for employee. Three weeks holiday with wages could be reasonably sufficient time for workers to spend some leisure time with their family.

To sum up, the number of paid leaves could be vary by different demographic regions, however it is important to provide at least three weeks of vacation with wages, so that work-life balance could be maintained among employees.