In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, the question of whether should governments encourage industries and businesses to relocate outside big cities. Although this trend is not without advantages, its downsides are more significant.

There is a multitude of manifest advantages of the relocation of businesses. It is evidence that moving factories to remote areas enables businesses to reduce the manufacturing cost. Specifically, in remote areas, there is a lot of vacant land for the plant and office. In addition, the rental price in these areas is much cheaper than in big cities. On the other hand, relocating businesses in remote areas will create more job opportunities for the locals and also raise their quality of life. Moreover, resettle businesses far away from densely populated places can put a strain on cities’ facilities and infrastructure. For example, traffic congestion, hospital and school overload are alleviated.

Nevertheless, under no circumstance should the relocation of industries demerits be overlooked. The relocation of businesses in rural areas will inevitably affect their profits due to the lost connection with their customers and suppliers. Consequently, this hinders these businesses to maximize their profit. Unskilled labor, on the other hand, is another factor that affects the quality of production. Companies will hire the majority of low qualified workers because of the lack of professional labor in rural areas. Likewise, the poor infrastructure and facilities in remote areas make the ideas of relocation less attractive. Entrepreneurs will find it hard to start-up business in remote areas where they have to deal with a host of issues such as inadequate security, lack of transportation, etc.

In conclusion, while the positive aspects of businesses’resettle are recognized, these pale into insignificance when compared to the drawbacks.