In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Junk food considerably affects our ecosystem. Intake of excessive fast foods influence various discomfort for our well-being and moreover causes harmful effects on the environment. In this essay, whether it is mandatory to introduce higher tax rates on unhealthy foods will be discussed.

Fast foods are unhygienic to children in many possible ways. Firstly, it contains plenty of fat, sugar, and salt which causes obesity, emotional and self-esteemed problems. Besides that, it causes chronic illness in the later part of their life. Secondly, it has low nutrients; however, Children needed high proteins, vitamins, and minerals for their bones and physical strength. Moreover, children perform very poor academics because of poor concentration levels. Furthermore, they have less energy to involve in sports activities. Additionally, Fast foods cause harmful effects on adults such as Obesity, Cardiovascular diseases, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, high blood sugar and so on.

Polluting our environment is one of the major issues. Junk foods carry bags, beverage cups and straws were made out of plastics. The result is that they were dumped into our surrounding soil and in the sea, as a result, harmful chemicals from plastic were released and ended up in groundwater. While Marine life which depends on jellyfishes mistakenly consume plastics. Besides, seabirds mistook floating plastics on ocean surface as plastics.

Contrary to affecting health and polluting environment, Junk foods were convenient in many ways. The first main reason is the relatively low price. Secondly, any time (24 hours) which makes buzzing cities and urban life comfortable. Thirdly, saves plenty of time (cooking time consuming). And finally, can find anywhere (at the corner of each street).

In summary, Fast foods were more suitable for the fast-moving world. On the contrary, it affects our health and polluting the environment which is more serious compared to the comfortability we gain. Hence, the government should increase tax rates as well as stop marketing such unhealthy foods.