In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.To what extent do you agree or disagree

Twentieth century is a fast-paced culture and no one seems to getting a minute for themselves. Recent studies on food industry are indicating that, of late people have been consuming a lot of fast food because they do not have the time. In some countries, especially in developed countries, people are suffering from health problems because of consuming too much fast food.

Eating fast food like pizza, burger or noodles can cause Diabetes, high cholesterol, heart and respiratory problems. In recent times, there has been huge demand from social activities on government to increase the taxes on fast food. This way, we could possibly drive them to have healthy diet rather than junk food. However, it seems to be unfair. Apart from the reason stated above, there could be several other reasons why people are consuming more fast food. If we look into the socio-economic group, the poor people consume more fast food because it is lot cheaper than buying organic or healthy diet food products. Increasing taxes on this kind of food could really affect the families of the poor.

Countries like USA, Australia and Belgium spend major share from their agriculture budget to promote a healthy diet in society. It is an excellent step in increasing the healthy lifestyle of people. However, on the other hand, the governments can provide subsidiaries on organic food items. This way, the prices of healthy food products can be reduced. Because of this, people will stop buying fast food and enjoy the luxury of organic foods.

To conclude, imposing a higher tax on food items will not benefit the poor people and I do not think it is a good idea. Rather, I suggest providing subsidiaries on organic food items and try to educate the people on health diet.