In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In various nations, the people are widely affected in terms of health level by consuming excess junk food items and the number is increasing continuously. It is argued by some individuals that the state must execute higher duties against these foods items. I completely agree with the notion as it will limit people from purchasing rubbish consumer food products and the interest in this food business will be discouraged.

To begin with, imposing high duties can curb health problems by limiting people from eating these junk food items. Many economical people will limit themselves to a certain extent from eating junk foods after the price hike in these consumer goods. Therefore, health problems can be minimized to some level. A recent survey from the Nutrition department revealed that the majority of the health risks are associated with junk food consumption, thus curbing people from eating these fast food items via increasing tax can control health problems.

Similarly, the increase in taxation will demotivate businesses involving unhealthy food products. This rise in the cost of the material will affect the business and new emerging venture of this business will try to find other alternatives rather than continuing the struggle. For instance, In Delhi, the government raised the duty against street vendors and as a result around 100 shops were closed within 2 months of the initiative. Hence, less source of junk food items will directly prevent people from getting infected.

In conclusion, I believe that an increase in taxation on fast food products will improve the health status of society because of the reasons mentioned in the above paragraphs.