In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some nations, the obesity cases are increasing because of high intake of junk food products. A significant number of individuals believe that increasing the price in the form of taxation is mandatory to control this problem. Although raising price can limit people from eating these cheap products, I disagree to some extent because majority of the manpower in developing nations intake these fast food items as a lunch.

To begin with, increasing tax on junk food items will minimize people intake of these products and limit the health difficulties to some extent. Mostly street food items are prepared without strict guidelines and there is no control of government, thus such products become potential threats to health care system. Raising price of fast food items in the form of tax can limit people from eating these food products on regular basis, which eventually will improve their health. A recent survey from Nutrition body has revealed that maximum number of obesity cases are because of low quality diet.

However, some individuals are always dependent on these fast food items as a source of daily meal and majority of them are economically poor. Hence, imposing higher taxes on fast food items can create more difficulties for poor people. For instance, a survey from the NGO society has revealed that in developing countries like India and Pakistan, working employees are mostly dependent on junk food products as their lunch meals. Therefore, increase in price can increase difficulties for these individuals.

In conclusion, while implementing higher duties on fast food products can limit people from eating these products and minimize their health suffering, I believe that most of the people in developing nations are dependent on these food items as a main course of meal on daily basis and this increase in tax can impact their pocket.