In some countries it is illegal for employers to reject job applications on the basis of age criteria. Is it a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

It is observed that many owner's of the company can not reject the potential employee by considering the age. This essay will examine the merits and demerits of the mentioned trend before reaching to an appropriate conclusion.

To begin with, ignoring the age group factor, provides equal opportunity to everyone. Nowadays, children have also wonderful expertise and many of them have abundant knowledge due to studying various books on their interested particular field. If they get a chance to show their special talent, the organisations growth beyond one's imagination. For example, a 12 year old Ashish Patel, who became billionaire, has in-depth knowledge of making software with latest technology. This kind of expertise always help the company to become tycoons.

In contrast, the negative impacts of ignoring age criteria should not be ignored. One of the most considerable factors is child labour cases increase dramatically. Employers get started to hire children in law wages and force to work more beyond their physical strength. This practise results into poor grade in studies and detrimental effect on health. Similarly, old age or over 65 year seniors cannot be rejected due to this law which reduced productivity overall. They cannot think beyond the box and mostly are not able to produce quality of work due to their age. For instance, many companies in India have failed to achieve their turnover due to allowing more old-aged staffs in their company.

To conclude, there evidently are favourable outcomes of restriction of ignoring the age factor while any applicants come for employment. However, considering the dreadful consequences such as child labour and low productivity of senior citizens, it can be determined that it is negative development.