In some countries, people follow the latest fashion and hairstyles.

In your opinion, what is influencing this?

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary world, following the latest fashion has become a new trend. This phenomenon is emerging owing to the increase of social media and the ever-growing fashion industry. In my opinion, following the lifestyle and looks of personalities or other people can lead to the loss of individuality and can cause personal harm.

To embark on, the latest fashion is introduced to ordinary people through the means of social media and the fashion industry. Firstly, the latest fashions including innovative dressing styles, colourful hairstyles and embedding tattoos are represented by the media in the most exaggerated manner that it obligates the people to follow them. To exemplify, it was found that after watching the embedded name of Akshay Kumar's son on his shoulder on YouTube, more than one thousand people mark their beloved one's name through tattoos on the same day. Secondly, celebrities are followed by individuals and they often copy their hairstyles and attires as represented in their movies, considering, it as the latest fashion.

However, imitating the fashion which usually is derived from the lifestyle of celebrities, can destroy individuals' own personality. In addition, changes made in the sake of fashion can deteriorate the beauty and the charm an individual holds. Also, another detrimental factor of following the trends is that it causes harm to people as they borrow money to fulfil their desires of purchasing new assets, consequently, this leads to the debt. Not only lifestyle but looks are also compromised by people in the name of fashion as they perform different experiments on their skin and body. For instance, a medical survey has revealed that there is a 60% increase in facial surgeries from last 10 years.

In conclusion, social websites and television stars make new fashion trends and by following these people can destroy their own personality and can cause harm to themselves. Therefore, while following the fashion it is necessary to be aware of the repercussions that it can bring to our life.