Children can learn effectively by simply watching television, therefore they should be allowed to do so to regularly at home and at

school.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the advancement of science and technology, television has emerged as a source of learning. However, some people assert that television watching is the simplest way of effective learning and children should be provided a regular time to do this activity. I strongly disagree with the statement and in my opinion, watching the screens regularly can have a detrimental effect on a child's health and studies.

Firstly, sitting inactive for prolonged hours and gazing at the screens can have an egregious impact on the health of children. In other words, to provide attractive and innovative learning parents often engage their children in watching cartoons or other programs. This results in the lack of physical activity and in turn, juveniles get prone to several health issues such as obesity, muscular strain, and weakening of eyesight. To illustrate, according to a survey conducted by Health Organization in the USA, 20% of children with vision problems are genetically affected and rest 80% are affected by the strain of light emitted from television screens.

Secondly, children are not mature enough to measure the authenticity of programs featured on television, therefore, they might receive un-ethical information which can affect their mind and study. In addition, with this regular practice, children get addicted and even during their exam days they prefer watching programs instead of studying. Consequently, this leads to their low grades in exams. Further, the addiction to this activity not only affects the studies but also has a severe impact on the mind and behavior of children. For example, a psychological study revealed that watching television is the main reason for the increase of short-tempered children in the age group of 5-10 years.

In conclusion, although television is an asset that provides innovative learning, however, its excessive usage can affect the children physically and mentally. Thus, in order to make children more active and responsible, proper restrictions should be imposed on their habit of watching television.