Nowadays many people choose READY-MADE FOOD and REFUSE to COOK AT HOME.

Why do you think it happens?

What are the ADVANTAGES and DISADVANTAGES of such a choice?

Owing to the surge in modernization, the lives of people are becoming more sedentary. People hardly get time to complete the necessary chores of the day and cooking is one of them. Therefore, most of the people these days prefer ready-made food. Although this trend saves time, it is also harmful to physical health.

To embark on, of all the reasons responsible for the increased consumption of fast food the crucial one is the shortage of time. This is because, in this modern era, it has become quintessential for every individual to work extremely harder to fulfil the basic necessities, as a result, they work in multiple shifts and jobs, which, in turn, leaves no time for preparing their own meals. For instance, according to the food department of India, 60% of the youth in the metropolitan cities consume ready-made food, due to the busy lifestyle.

Undoubtedly, this burgeoning trend has various merits. The most significant is the saving of precious time and effort. In other words, homemade cooking includes numerous tasks such as chopping, cutting, frying and doughing which are time-consuming and require immense efforts. For example, it has been proved that three-meal cooking involves approximately five hours of a day, which is next to impossible for a working employee to afford. Conversely, if cuisines ordered online, it would save time and energy of individuals.

Nevertheless, the over-consumption of ready-made food is egregious for the health and body. The reason for this is the oil and other ingredients used for the preparation of these cuisines do not contain a nutritive value, thereby, can cause various diseases such as obesity, high blood pressure, and food poisoning. To illustrate, in the recent report of the Health Organization of India, hundred cases of youth suffering from food-poisoning has been registered in the government hospitals in the last one year in Gurgaon, this clearly signifies the effect of contaminated junk food.

In conclusion, the busy lifestyle is the main factor for the increased consumption of ready-made food, despite saving time and energy, this trend can cause unhealthiness.