Money should be spent on creating new buildings such as museums or town halls rather than renovating the existing ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is important to consider whether the government should invest the tax payer's money on renovating the traditional buildings or constructing modern infrastructure. I strongly support the former view, in my perspective restoration of existing buildings is vital because these monuments not only represent the culture and heritage of the nation but also promote tourism.

To begin with, it is quintessential for the government to spend money on the renovation of the old museums, temples and building, owing to the heritage value of these buildings. In other words, most of the ancient monuments were built by our ancestors which represent the uniqueness of ethnic values of the community and connect the society to the rich tradition. The UNESCO World Heritage site, the Ajanta and Ellora caves in India, serve the best example of the monuments which act as the epitome of cultural and religious heritage. Therefore, if these buildings are not maintained, then our future generation will possibly lose touch with history.

Additionally, my viewpoint is further bolstered by the reason that the maintenance of ancient buildings leads to the promotion of tourism. The reason for this is these monuments always attract the tourists from different countries and maintaining them will add icing on the cake, as a result, a surge in tourists will lead to the economic development of the host country. For instance, 40% of the gross economy is dependent on tourism, in that situation renovation and preservation of ancient tourist places is extremely important.

In conclusion, although renovation and restoration involve a substantial amount of money, in my view, it is more beneficial in comparison to the construction of new ones in terms of preserving the nation's ethnicity and promoting national tourism.