Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. What do you think is the reason for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Owing to the proliferation of sedentary work and personal lives, people hardly get free time. The majority of young people consider shopping as the best way to spend their free time. Shopping has now become the latest leisure activity among the youngsters due to the availability of varieties of products at cheap rates and attractive advertisement of the items. In my opinion, this is a negative development as it can cause wastage of time and money.

To embark on, the exaggeration of import and export has boomed the local markets with a variety of products which are mostly the replicas of well-known brands, considerably at low rates. Therefore, everyone feels contented to purchase something to earn happiness for themselves or for their acquaintances. Secondly, people usually get attracted toward the glorifying display of products on a television screen or on the hoardings which obligates them to buy it. Moreover,

advertisements also play an indispensable role in the popularity of items and the display of discounts on its sale. To exemplify, a study has revealed that 60% of the customers get attracted to the product with discounts and spend money on shopping.

Further, shopping has detrimental effects as it leads to the wastage of prestigious time and money which can otherwise be consumed in some productive work. For instance, according to a survey, 60% of the people visiting in the shopping malls, shop only for contentment while only 20% actually, shop for urgent requirements. Thus, activities such as pursuing hobbies, playing sports or visiting dear and near ones can be performed as leisure activities.

To reiterate, although the accessibility of products and its attractive adverts have made shopping popular among young people, however, this is a negative approach in terms of the wastage of time and money. Thus, leisure activity needs to be more productive and effective.