In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work, and communicate online without any face-to-face contact with other people. Is this a positive or negative development?

Owing to the digitalization, these days, many activities are possible without any physical interactions. Although digital ways of shopping, working, and communicating are convenient and economical, in my opinion, their detrimental effects such as relationship conflicts and fraudulence make them a negative development.

Undoubtedly, due to the surge in digital technology, people can now save time and money and can lead a comfortable life. This is because of multiple reasons, firstly, with the help of online shopping people can receive their favorite items at their doorsteps in no time with just a few clicks on mobile. As a result, they can save a huge expenditure on petrol consumed for supermarket trips. Secondly, communication has become quite easy and convenient due to the availability of applications such as Skype, WhatsApp, and many more, through which people can communicate with anyone without actually visiting their places. Moreover, digital advancement has benefitted the employees also, as nowadays, most people work from home using the internet which provides them the comfort of working according to their own schedule.

Despite the aforementioned advantages, I believe, this is a negative trend due to its numerous drawbacks. Primarily, less face-to-face interactions can create social and personal differences. To exemplify, according to the study by Hopkins University, 40% of the people are likely to become antisocial by the end of 2020, owing to the lack of interest in meeting others in person, caused by the huge influx in digital communication. Not only will this lead to issues with personal and social relationships, but it will also lead to people having issues within work because no facial interactions can easily create misunderstandings and conflicts with fellow colleagues. Additionally, online shopping can also lead to fraud and misleads. Some fraudulent people can easily hide the true identity of products while representing them online and can mislead their customers with fake reviews and ratings.

In conclusion, while digital purchasing, employment, and interaction provide convenience and ease, in my perspective, these developments are more negative in terms of social distraction and online scams.